Outline of Ignition Timing Control (Control of ESA)


The ignition timing control consists of two basic controls.
1. Starting ignition control
The starting ignition control is performed by conducting ignition at the predetermined crankshaft angle regardless of the engine operation conditions. This crankshaft angle is called the “initial ignition timing angle”.
2. After-start ignition control
The after-start ignition timing control is performed with the initial ignition timing angle, the basic ignition advance angle, which is calculated by the engine load and engine speed, and various corrections.
Initial Ignition Timing Angle Judgement
The initial ignition timing angle is determined as follows. When the engine ECU receives the NE signal (point B in figure at left) after receiving the G signal (point A in the figure at left), it determines that it is the initial ignition timing angle when the crankshaft reaches 5

Related Post