Location and Function of Automotive Swiches


1. Switches

(1) Damping mode select switch This switch can change the shock absorber damping force. The switch positions and details of the settings depend on the model, but switching from COMFORT (or NORM) to SPORT changes the damping force from soft to firm.


(1) Damping mode select switch

(2)Height control switch

This changes the vehicle height setting. The switch positions and details of the settings depend on the model, but switching from NORM (or LOW) to HIGH changes the vehicle height from low to high.

(3) Damping mode indicator light and vehicle height indicator light The damping mode indicator light lights by mode selection with the damping mode select switch. The vehicle height indicator light is lit up by mode selection with the height control switch. Also, these indicator lights are blinking during system malfunction. The contents of these indicator lights depend on the model.

(4) Stop light switch

(5) Door courtesy switch

2. Sensors

(1) Steering angle sensor The steering angle sensor is fitted to the turn signal switch assembly and detects the steering direction and angle. The sensor contains 3 photo interrupters with phases, and a slotted disc interrupts the light to turn the phototransistor ON and OFF to detect the steering direction and angle.

Steering angle sensor

Height control sensor

Deceleration sensor

(2) Height control sensor A height control sensor is incorporated in each wheel. This sensor converts change in the height of the vehicle into change in the control link rotation angle. Then, the result is detected in the form of voltage change. When the vehicle becomes higher, the signal voltage becomes higher; when the vehicle becomes lower, the signal voltage falls.

(3) Deceleration sensor The front acceleration sensor is integrated with the front height control sensor and the rear acceleration is installed in the luggage compartment. The acceleration sensors convert deformation of the piezoelectric ceramic disc into an electrical signal and the vehicle vertical direction acceleration is detected. When upward acceleration of the vehicle, that is upward force, is received, the signal voltage rises; when downward force is received, the signal voltage falls.

3. ECU/Actuators

(1) EMS/Air suspension ECU The EMS/air suspension ECU serves the role of processing the signals received from the sensors and the selector switch and converting them into the signals for driving the actuators and valves.

(2) Suspension control actuator The suspension control actuator is located at the top of each shock absorber/pneumatic cylinder. It changes the shock absorber damping force by the output shaft rotating the shock absorber rotary valve. The rotary valve (output shaft) rotation angle is controlled by signals from the EMS/air suspension ECU.

(3) Pneumatic cylinder with shock absorber/shock absorber The pneumatic cylinder consists of a variable damping force shock absorber containing low-pressure nitrogen gas and an air chamber with a large compressed air capacity in order to realize excellent riding comfort. To switch the shock absorber’s damping force, a hard damping valve and a soft damping valve have been provided. The damping force is varied by the rotary valve, which changes the ratio of oil that passes through the valve

(4) Compressor and dryer assembly The compressor and dryer assembly has an integral construction with the compressor and motor to make the compressed air necessary for raising the vehicle height, the dryer to eliminate the moisture in the compressed air made by the compressor, and the exhaust valve to drain the compressed air to the atmosphere from the pneumatic cylinders.

(5) Height control valve The height control valves control the flow of compressed air to and from the pneumatic cylinders depending on signals from the air suspension ECU. Two height control valves are provided, one for the front and the other for the rear.


Related Post